HOME 
 
 BIOGRAPHY 
 MYTHS & FACTS 
 
 PAINTINGS 1912-1913 
 PAINTINGS 1914-1915 
 PAINTINGS 1916-1920 
 PAINTINGS 1921-1923 
 PAINTINGS 1924-1926 
 PAINTINGS 1926-1929 
 PAINTINGS 1928-1935 
 PAINTINGS 1933-1942 
 PAINTINGS 1942-1956 
 HARLEQUINS 
 
 FIGURATIVE DRAWINGS 
 ABSTRACT DRAWINGS 
 WATERCOLOR, GOUACHE 
 RELIEFS 
 LINOCUTS 
 LITHOGRAPHS 
 
 TEXTS by IVAN PUNI 
 EXHIBITIONS
 
 CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 
 FORGERIES 
 ROLE OF XANA 
 
 CONTACTS 

 

 

 

 

 

  IVAN PUNI (JEAN POUGNY). BIOGRAPHY РУ DE EN

Many articles and exhibition catalogues have been published about Ivan Puni alias Jean Pougny (the Francophone form used after 1925). His main biographer was his widow Xenia Boguslavskaya (Xana), who outlived her husband by 15 years. A professional artist herself and an experienced art dealer, she devoted her life to popularising her husband's work. After he passed away, she began preparing his catalogue raisonné, held a dozen museum exhibitions, published a dozen catalogues. Who else but her should have the most accurate and the most detailed information about the life and work of Puni? Many authors who wrote about him later trusted her publications. The reality turned out to be more complicated and richer: in fact Xana allowed herself to edit a lot of things - both in Pougny's work and in his biography. In his work, in order to reconstruct the lost works (first of all reliefs, but also paintings and graphics). In his biography, she left out some details (for example, Puni's service as a postal official), and also for some unclear reason claimed her husband was four years younger than he really was, changing the year of his birth from 1890 to 1894. Nevertheless, the foundation laid by Xana remains the main source of knowledge about Jean Pougny.
Here are the main monographs on Pougny, in which an extensive list of publications devoted to him can be found:
  1. Berninger, Herman & Cartier, Jean-Albert. Pougny. Jean Pougny (Iwan Puni) 1892—1956. Catalogue de l'oeuvre. Tome 1: Les Années d'avant-garde, Russie — Berlin, 1910—1923. Tübingen, Éditions Ernst Wasmuth, 1972.
    Berninger, Herman. Pougny. Jean Pougny (Iwan Puni) 1892—1956. Catalogue de l'oeuvre. Tome 2: Paris-Cote d’Azur, 1924—1956, Peintures. Tübingen, Éditions Ernst Wasmuth, 1992.
    A two-volume catalogue raisonné, the main source on the life and work of Jean Pougny. Xana prepared the material for this catalogue, Cartier wrote the texts based on her contributions, and Berninger arranged for publication at Ernst Wasmuth Verlag. For details of this two-volume catalogue, see the section CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ.
  2. Iwan Puni. 1892—1956. Katalog zur Ausstellung des Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris und der Berlinischen Galerie. Bearb. v. Jean-Louis Andral, Jean-Claude Marcadé und Marie-Anne Chambost. Stuttgart, Hatje, 1993.
    Catalogue of the 1993 exhibition in Paris and Berlin to mark the Pougny's hundredth birthday, French and German editions. It is the most serious and scholarly publication on Pougny of all, but even here a dubious relief from the notorious "Curt Benedict collection" found its way into the catalogue.
  3. 0,10 Iwan Puni. Werke aus der Sammlung Herman Berninger, Zürich und Fotografien der russischen Revolution aus der Sammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog, Basel. Ausstellungskatalog Museum Jean Tinguely, 2003.
    Catalogue of the Berninger collection exhibition at the Tinguely Museum (2003). Despite the rich factual material (documents and photographs obtained by Berninger from Xana), this book unfortunately can't be considered as serious: in the 1990s, the elderly collector was misled about the authenticity of Puni's works from the Petrograd period and acquired (and exhibited) more than two dozen fakes; it is embarrassing to read those passages in his catalogue articles where he tries to attribute these forgeries.
  4. Сарабьянов, Дмитрий. Иван Пуни, 1892—1956 (серия «Художники русской эмиграции»). М.: Искусство-XXI век, 2007.
    This monograph - the first and so far the only one in Russian - is written with great sympathy for the artist and covers his creative path in detail. Unfortunately, Dmitry Sarabianov relied on earlier publications about Pougny and materials provided by Berninger. As a result, among other things, unreliable information was transferred into the book. A few newly introduced untrue works also cause annoyance.
Archival searches conducted in recent years have uncovered a wealth of new material to correct and supplement the data on Pougny, which was traditionally passed from text to text previously. The new material is partially published in the following articles:

Biographical information, corrected and supplemented
  Before 1917 the dates are given according to the old calendar

22 March 1890,
St-Petersburg
Ivan Albertovich Puni was born to Albert Cesarevich Puni, a cellist of the Imperial Theatres, and his wife Lidia Mikhailovna; on 4 April 1890 he was baptised in the Matveevskaya Church, the parish church of St. Matthew the Apostle, at the corner of Matveevsky Lane and Bolshaya Pushkarskaya Street in St-Petersburg. Puni's own house - 56, Bolshoy Prospekt - belonged to its parish. For a long time it was common to erroneously give Puni's birth year as 1894 or 1892; his Birth certificate was found (by Alexey Rodionov) in October 2019 in the archive (ЦГИА 19-125-1092). Ivan himself correctly stated his date of birth as 22 March 1890 - for example in 1915 in his application form when he joined the Post Office (see А. Родионов. Новое о выставке «0,10» и о ее организаторе Иване Пуни // Искусствознание, №1-2, 2020, с. 232-271).
Ivan's father, Albert Cesarevich Puni (28 March 1848, London - 18 October 1925, Kuokkala) played cello at the Mariinsky Theatre. He was son of the Italian composer Cesare Pugni (31 May 1802, Genoa - 14 January 1870, St-Petersburg) and the Englishwoman Maria Linton, they moved from London to St-Petersburg in 1851.
Ivan's mother, Lydia Mikhailovna Lomakina, by her first husband Saltykova, by her second husband Puni (2 May 1848, Vorontsovo village, Kalyazin uyezd, Tver province - 15 June 1905, St-Petersburg) was landowner, the widow of Sergei Saltykov (1829-1872), a brother of M.E. Saltykov-Shchedrin.
After the death of his wife in 1905, Albert Cesarevich married the house maid Julia Mikhailovna Kaul and officially recognized the two illegitimate daughters born to her. To do this, he left Catholicism, joined Orthodoxy and changed his name to Andrey. For more on Ivan's childhood and family, see in: А. Родионов. Расшифровывая Пуни. Часть 1. Ранние годы // Вестник истории, литературы, искусства, т. XV, 2022, с. 144-162.
Birth and baptismal record of Ivan Albertovich Puni in the metric book of the parish church of St Matthew the Apostle on the Petersburg side (ЦГИА 19-125-1092) Ivan Puni as a baby
1890
With Maria, the older sister
ca. 1896
1899-1902 studied in the first class of the real school of the Karl May School (September - December 1899), then at the Vvedensky Gymnasium (first and second classes, September 1900 - May 1902).
1902–1907 On 1 September 1902 he was enrolled as an intern in the third class of the Nicholas Cadet Corps (23 Officerskaya Str., St-Petersburg), in May 1907 he was promoted to "vice unter-officer" and released "on the side".
Drawing by Ivan Puni at the entrance exam for the third class of the Nicholas Cadet Corps
May 1902
1904 1907 1907, Kuokkala
Ivan Puni (in hat) standing; sitting in the centre: Ivan's stepmother Julia Mikhailovna (born Kaul; 1863-18.8.1933, Kuokkala) and his father Andrey Puni (28 March 1848, London - 18 October 1925, Kuokkala); their daughters (Ivan's half-sisters) Olga (Olga Andreyevna Puni, married Kobylanskaya-Goryanskaya; 23.07.1903-1981, Paris) and Julia (Julia Andreyevna Puni, married Efron; 28.01.1901-22.03.1993, Bloomfield, USA) on his lap.
1908-1910 took private drawing lessons in St-Petersburg.
1910-1912 first trip to Paris. He was noted in the studio at 9, rue Campagne Première (together with Yuri Annenkov). Attended private schools, e.g. Académie Julian. During a trip to Naples he met Xana (Xenia Boguslavskaya, an acquaintance from Kuokkala), who was studying at the Academy of Arts there.
Xana in the Carpathian Mountains
1911
Xana in Lviv on her way to Naples
1911
Xana
1912
Yuri Annenkov. Portrait of Ivan Puni. 1911, Paris Yuri Annenkov. Portrait of Ivan Puni. 1912, Paris. 9, rue Campagne Première
1912 In spring returned to St-Petersburg, participated in the 4th exhibition of the Union of Youth (4-25 December 1912) with the painting "Breakfast", which caused a lively discussion.
1913 Together with Xana he actively participates in the Futurists life, their flat at the corner of Bolshoy and Gatchinskaya Street becomes a meeting place for them. Preparation of the collection "Roaring Parnassus". Participated in the 5th exhibition of the Union of Youth (10 November 1913 - 12 January 1914) with three fauvist paintings (a landscape, "Reaper" and "Susanna and the Elders").
1914 Travelled to Europe (Paris, Marseille, Brussels). Participated in the 30th Salon of Independents (three paintings: "Bather", "Interior", "Self-Portrait"). Correspondence with Malevich, preparation of the exhibition "Tramway V". With the outbreak of war - return to Russia.
1915 "The First Futurist Exhibition "Tramway V"" (3 March - 2 April 1915, the Small Hall of the Society for the Encouragement of Arts); Puni is the official organiser.
At the end of February he enters the service as an official in the Post Office, where he worked until July 1918.
"The Last Futurist Exhibition of Paintings "0.10"" (19 December 1915 - 19 January 1916, Art Bureau of N.E. Dobychina); Puni was again the official organiser.
He also participated in two exhibitions of arts and crafts at the Lemercier Gallery (Moscow, 6 November - 7 December 1915 and 26 December 1915 - 26 January 1916).
1916 12 January 1916 - "Scientific-Popular Lecture of the Suprematists" (together with Malevich) at the Tenishevsky School. Participated in five exhibitions.
1917 Participated in the СДИ (Union of Art Workers) and the Committee for Protection of Monuments. Participated in three exhibitions. Published several fairy tales for children.
1918 Participated in the decoration of Petrograd for May and November holidays. From October 1918 he was employed at the Fine Arts Department of the People's Commissariat of Education as professor at ПГСХУМ (former Academy of Arts) - until the end of 1919. Participated in two exhibitions.
1919 At Chagall's invitation he went to Vitebsk together with Xana and a part of his students, from January to April 1919 he worked at the Vitebsk Art School. He was a member of the Collegium for Arts and Art Industry of Vitebsk province (M. Chagall - chairman of the Collegium, K. Boguslavskaya - head of the Art Industry section, I. Puni - head of the Artistic Agitation and Propaganda section). Published two articles in the newspaper "Art of the Commune" (Petrograd) and five articles in the collection "Revolutionary Art" (Vitebsk). On his return to Petrograd, he continued teaching at ПГСХУМ and co-operated with the Porcelain Factory. Participated in two exhibitions, including the First State Free Exhibition at the former Winter Palace.
1920 At the end of January/beginning of February 1920 together with Xana and the Shukhaev couple left for Finland across the ice of the Gulf of Finland. In October 1920 moved to Berlin.
1921 Solo exhibition at Galerie Der Sturm (February 1921). Publication (together with Hausmann, Arp and Moholy-Nagy) of the proclamation "Towards Elementary Art" in the magazine De Stijl.
1922-1923 Communicated extensively with advanced European artists, his circle of contacts included Piet Mondrian, Amédée Ozenfant, Gino Severini, Rudolf Belling, László Moholy-Nagy, Hans Richter, Karl Zalit (who had also arrived from Russia), as well as Dadaists (Kurt Schwitters and others).
Participated in the First Congress of the International Union of Progressive Artists in Düsseldorf (29-31 May 1922), where he was at the centre of a discussion on the nature of modern art. Participated in six exhibitions, including the First Russian Exhibition (Van Diemen Gallery, October-December 1922) and the November Group exhibitions.
On 3 November 1922 he gave a talk on modern art at the Berlin House of Arts. Publication of the brochure "Modern Painting" (Современная живопись. Берлин, 1923, изд. Л.Д. Френкель).
1923, autumn Moving to Paris. Since then he has exhibited regularly.
1925 Solo exhibition at Galerie Barbazanges.
1933 Solo exhibition at Galerie Jeanne Castel.
1940 In view of the Nazi occupation of Paris, a move to the south of France (Antibes) with the Delaunay couple.
1942 Return to Paris.
1943 Solo exhibition at Galerie Louis Carré.
1947 Pougny was granted French citizenship, the decree published on 24 August.
1947-1956 Solo exhibitions: Galerie de France (1947, 1950), Knoedler (1949, 1952), Adams Brothers (1950), Coard (1953, 1956).
1951 suffered a stroke.
1952 was made a Chevalier of the Legion of Honour.
1956, 28 December Jean Pougny suffered a heart attack; he was taken from his studio to the Boucicaut Hospital, where his death was recorded at 12:50 noon. The funeral took place on 2 January 1957 at the Montparnasse cemetery.

ГЛАВНАЯ 
 
 МАТЕРИАЛЫ К БИОГРАФИИ 
 МИФЫ и ФАКТЫ 
 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1912-1913 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1914-1915 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1916-1920 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1921-1923 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1924-1926 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1926-1929 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1928-1935 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1933-1942 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1942-1956 
 АРЛЕКИНЫ 
 
 РИСУНКИ ФИГУРАТИВНЫЕ 
 РИСУНКИ БЕСПРЕДМЕТНЫЕ 
 АКВАРЕЛЬ, ГУАШЬ 
 РЕЛЬЕФЫ 
 ЛИНОГРАВЮРЫ 
 ЛИТОГРАФИИ 
 
 ТЕКСТЫ ИВАНА ПУНИ 
 ВЫСТАВКИ
 
 КАТАЛОГ-РЕЗОНЕ 
 ПРОБЛЕМА ПОДДЕЛОК 
 РОЛЬ КСАНЫ 
 
 КОНТАКТЫ 

 

 

 

 

 

  ИВАН ПУНИ. МАТЕРИАЛЫ К БИОГРАФИИ РУ DE EN

Об Иване Пуни опубликовано множество статей и издано немало выставочных каталогов. Главным биографом Ивана Пуни была его вдова Ксения Богуславская (Ксана), пережившая мужа на 15 лет. Сама профессиональная художница и опытный арт-дилер, она посвятила свою жизнь популяризации творчества мужа. После его смерти она занялась подготовкой его каталога-резоне, провела десяток музейных выставок, издала десяток каталогов. Казалось бы - кто как не она владеет самой точной и самой подробной информацией о жизни и творчестве Пуни. Многие авторы, писавшие о нем позже, доверились ее публикациям. Реальность оказалась сложнее и богаче: выяснилось, что Ксана позволила себе многое отредактировать - как в творчестве Пуни, так и в его биографии. В творчестве - с целью восполнения утраченных произведений (прежде всего - рельефов, но также и картин, и графики). В биографии она умолчала о некоторых деталях (например о службе Пуни почтовым чиновником), а также по неясной причине омолодила мужа на 4 года, изменив год его рождения с 1890 на 1894. Тем не менее фундамент, заложенный Ксаной, продолжает оставаться основным источником знаний об Иване Пуни.
Вот основные монографии о Пуни, в которых можно найти обширный список посвященных ему публикаций:
  1. Berninger, Herman & Cartier, Jean-Albert. Pougny. Jean Pougny (Iwan Puni) 1892—1956. Catalogue de l'oeuvre. Tome 1: Les Années d'avant-garde, Russie — Berlin, 1910—1923. Tübingen, Éditions Ernst Wasmuth, 1972.
    Berninger, Herman. Pougny. Jean Pougny (Iwan Puni) 1892—1956. Catalogue de l'oeuvre. Tome 2: Paris-Cote d’Azur, 1924—1956, Peintures. Tübingen, Éditions Ernst Wasmuth, 1992.
    Двухтомный каталог-резоне, основной источник о жизни и творчестве Ивана Пуни. Материал для этого каталога подготовила Ксана, тексты по ее материалам написал Картье, а Бернингер организовал публикацию в издательстве Эрнста Васмута. Подробно об этом двухтомнике см. в разделе КАТАЛОГ-РЕЗОНЕ.
  2. Iwan Puni. 1892—1956. Katalog zur Ausstellung des Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris und der Berlinischen Galerie. Bearb. v. Jean-Louis Andral, Jean-Claude Marcadé und Marie-Anne Chambost. Stuttgart, Hatje, 1993.
    Каталог выставки 1993 года в Париже и Берлине, приуроченной к столетию Ивана Пуни, издание на французском и немецком языках. Это наиболее серьезная и научная из всех публикаций о Пуни, однако даже в нее проник сомнительный рельеф из пресловутого "собрания Курта Бенедикта".
  3. 0,10 Iwan Puni. Werke aus der Sammlung Herman Berninger, Zürich und Fotografien der russischen Revolution aus der Sammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog, Basel. Ausstellungskatalog Museum Jean Tinguely, 2003.
    Каталог выставки 2003 года в музее Тэнгли, посвященной собранию Бернингера. Несмотря на богатый фактический материал (документы и фотографии, полученные Бернингером от Ксаны), эта книга к сожалению не может считаться серьезной: в 90-е годы пожилой коллекционер был введен в заблуждение относительно подлинности произведений Пуни петроградского периода и приобрел (и выставил) более двух десятков фальшивок; неловко читать те пассажи в его каталожных статьях, где он пытается атрибутировать эти подделки.
  4. Сарабьянов, Дмитрий. Иван Пуни, 1892—1956 (серия «Художники русской эмиграции»). М.: Искусство-XXI век, 2007.
    Эта монография - первая и пока единственная на русском языке - написана с большой симпатитей к художнику и подробно освещает его творческий путь. К сожалению, Дмитрий Владимирович доверился ранее изданным публикациям о Пуни и материалам, предоставленным Бернингером. В результате в книгу перекочевали, в том числе, и недостоверные сведения. Досаду вызывают также несколько нововведенных неподлинных произведений.
Архивные поиски, проведенные в последние годы, открыли богатый новый материал, позволяющий исправить и дополнить данные о Пуни, ранее по традиции переходившие из текста в текст. Новый материал частично опубликован в следующих статьях:

Биографические сведения, исправленные и дополненные
  до 1917 года даты даются по старому стилю

22 марта 1890,
Санкт-Петербург
Иван Альбертович Пуни родился в семье артиста Императорских театров Альберта Цезаревича Пуни и его жены Лидии Михайловны; 4 апреля 1890 года он был крещен в Матвеевской церкви – приходской церкви Св. апостола Матфея, угол Матвеевского пер. и Большой Пушкарской ул. в Санкт-Петербурге. Дом Пуни – Большой пр., 56 – относился к ее приходу. Долгое время было принято ошибочно указывать год рождения Пуни как 1894 или 1892; его метрика была обнаружена нами в октябре 2019 г. в ЦГИА (ф. 19 оп. 125 ед.хр. 1092). Сам Иван верно указывал дату своего рождения как 22 марта 1890 – например в 1915 г. в анкете при поступлении на службу в Почтамт (см. А. Родионов. Новое о выставке «0,10» и о ее организаторе Иване Пуни // Искусствознание, №1-2, 2020, с. 232-271).
Отец Ивана, Альберт Цезаревич Пуни (28 марта 1848, Лондон – 18 октября 1925, Куоккала) играл в Мариинском театре на виолончели. Он был сыном итальянского композитора Цезаря Пуни (итал. Cesare Pugni; 31 мая 1802, Генуя – 14 января 1870, СПб) и англичанки Марии Линтон, перебравшихся из Лондона в Петербург в 1851 году. Мать Ивана, Лидия Михайловна Ломакина, по первому мужу Салтыкова, по второму - Пуни (2 мая 1848, с. Воронцово Калязинского уезда Тверской губ. – 15 июня 1905, СПб). Помещица, вдова Сергея Салтыкова (1829-1872), родного брата М.Е. Салтыкова-Щедрина.
После смерти жены в 1905 году Альберт Цезаревич оформил брак со своей горничной Юлией Михайловной Кауль и официально признал рожденных ею двух внебрачных дочерей. Для этого он вышел из католичества, вступил в православие и сменил имя на Андрей. О семье и детстве Ивана подробнее см. в: А. Родионов. Расшифровывая Пуни. Часть 1. Ранние годы // Вестник истории, литературы, искусства, т. XV, 2022, с. 144-162.
Запись о рождении и крещении Ивана Альбертовича Пуни в метрической книге приходской церкви Св. апостола Матфея на Петербургской стороне (ЦГИА 19-125-1092) Малыш Иван Пуни
1890
С Марией, старшей сестрой
Ок. 1896
1899-1902 Обучался в первом классе реального училища школы Карла Мая (с сентября по декабрь 1899), затем во Введенской гимназии (первый и второй классы, сентябрь 1900 - май 1902).
1902–1907 1 сентября 1902 зачислен интерном в третий класс Николаевского кадетского корпуса (СПб, ул. Офицерская 23), в мае 1907 произведен в "вице унтер-офицеры" и "выпущен на сторону".
Рисунок Ивана Пуни на вступительном экзамене в третий класс Николаевского кадетского корпуса
май 1902
1904 1907 1907, Куоккала
Иван Пуни (в шляпе) стоит; сидят в центре: мачеха Ивана - Юлия Михайловна Пуни (в девичестве Кауль; 1863-18.8.1933, Куоккала) и его отец Андрей Цезаревич Пуни (28 марта 1848, Лондон – 18 октября 1925, Куоккала); у него на коленях их дочери (сводные сестры Ивана) Ольга (Ольга Андреевна Пуни, в замужестве Кобылянская-Горянская; 23.07.1903–1981, Париж) и Юлия (Юлия Андреевна Пуни, в замужестве Эфрон; 28.01.1901-22.03.1993, Блумфилд, США)
1908-1910 Брал частные уроки рисования в Санкт-Петербурге.
1910-1912 Первая поездка в Париж. Был замечен в мастерской по адресу 9, rue Campagne Première (вместе с Юрием Анненковым). Посещал частные школы, в том числе академию Жулиана. Во время вылазки в Неаполь встретил Ксану (Ксению Богуславскую, знакомую еще по Куоккале), которая обучалась в тамошней академии.
Ксана в Карпатах
1911
Ксана во Львове по пути в Неаполь
1911
Ксана
1912
Юрий Анненков. Портрет Ивана Пуни. 1911, Париж Юрий Анненков. Портрет Ивана Пуни. 1912. Paris, rue Campagne Première 9
1912 Весной вернулся в СПб, участвовал в 4 выставке Союза Молодежи (4-25 декабря 1912) картиной "Завтрак", вызвавшей оживленную дискуссию.
1913 Вместе с Ксаной активно участвовал в жизни футуристов, квартира на углу Большого и Гатчинской стала для них местом встреч. Подготовка сборника "Рыкающий Парнас". Участвовал в 5 выставке Союза Молодежи (10 ноября 1913 - 12 января 1914) тремя фовистскими картинами (пейзаж, "Жнец" и "Сусанна и старцы").
1914 Поездка в Европу (Париж, Марсель, Брюссель). Участвовал в 30 салоне Независимых (три картины: Купальщица, Интерьер, Автопортрет). Переписка с Малевичем, подготовка выставки "Трамвай В". С началом войны - возвращение в Россию.
1915 "Первая футуристическая выставка Трамвай В" (3 марта – 2 апреля 1915, Малый зал Общества поощрения художеств); Пуни - официальный организатор.
В конце февраля поступил на службу чиновником в Почтовое ведомство, проработал там до июля 1918.
"Последняя футуристическая выставка картин 0,10" (19 декабря 1915 – 19 января 1916, Художественное бюро Н.Е.Добычиной); Пуни снова официальный организатор.
Участвовал также в двух выставках декоративно-прикладного искусства в галерее Лемерсье (Москва, 6 ноября - 7 декабря 1915 и 26 декабря 1915 - 26 января 1916).
1916 12 января 1916 - "Научно-популярная лекция супрематистов" (совместно с Малевичем) в Тенишевском училище. Участвовал в пяти выставках.
1917 Входил в СДИ (Союз деятелей искусства) и Комитет по охране памятников. Участвовал в трех выставках. Опубликовал несколько сказок для детей.
1918 Участвовал в оформлении Петрограда к майским и ноябрьским праздникам. С октября 1918 сотрудник отдела ИЗО Наркомпроса, профессор ПГСХУМ (до конца 1919). Участвовал в двух выставках.
1919 По приглашению Шагала уехал в Витебск вместе с Ксаной и частью студентов своей мастерской, с января по апрель 1919 работал в Витебском художественном училище. Входил в Коллегию по делам искусств и художественной промышленности Витебской губернии (М. Шагал – председатель коллегии, К. Богуславская – зав. секцией художественной промышленности, И. Пуни - зав. секцией художественной агитации и пропаганды). Опубликовал две статьи в газете "Искусство Коммуны" (Петроград) и пять статей в сборнике "Революционное искусство" (Витебск). По возвращении в Петроград продолжил преподавание в ПГСХУМ, сотрудничал с Фарфоровым заводом. Участвовал в двух выставках, в том числе в Первой государственной свободной выставке в Зимнем дворце.
1920 В конце января/начале февраля 1920 вместе с Ксаной и четой Шухаевых ушел в Финляндию по льду Финского залива. В октябре 1920 - переезд в Берлин.
1921 Персональная выставка в галерее Штурм (февраль 1921). Публикация (совместно с Хаусманном, Арпом и Мохой-Надем) воззвания "К элементарному искусству" в журнале "De Stijl".
1922-1923 Много общался с передовыми европейскими художниками, в круг его общения входили: Пит Мондриан, Амеде Озанфан, Джино Северини, Рудольф Беллинг, Ласло Мохой-Надь, Ханс Рихтер, прибывший из России Карл Залит, а также дадаисты (Курт Швиттерс и другие).
Участвовал в Первом конгрессе Международного союза прогрессивных художников в Дюссельдорфе (29-31 мая 1922), где оказался в центре дискуссии о характере современного творчества. Участвовал в шести выставках, в том числе в Первой русской выставке (галерея Ван Димен, октябрь-декабрь 1922), входил в состав Ноябрьской группы.
3 ноября 1922 сделал доклад о современном искусстве в берлинском Доме искусств. Публикация брошюры "Современная живопись" (Берлин, 1923, изд. Л.Д. Френкель).
1923, осень Переезд в Париж. С тех пор регулярно выставлялся.
1925 Персональная выставка в галерее Барбазанж.
1933 Персональная выставка в галерее Жанны Кастель.
1940 Ввиду оккупации Парижа нацистами - переезд на юг Франции (Антиб) вместе с четой Делоне.
1942 Возвращение в Париж.
1943 Персональная выставка в галерее Луи Карре.
1947 Получил французское гражданство, указ опубликован 24 августа.
1947-1956 Персональные выставки: Galerie de France (1947, 1950), Knoedler (1949, 1952), Adams Brothers (1950), Coard (1953, 1956).
1951 Перенес инсульт.
1952 Стал кавалером Ордена почетного легиона.
1956, 28 декабря Иван Пуни был сражен инфарктом; из мастерской его доставили в парижскую больницу Бусико, где в 12:50 дня была зафиксирована смерть. Похороны состоялись 2 января 1957 года на кладбище Монпарнас.