HOME 
 
 BIOGRAPHY 
 MYTHS & FACTS 
 
 PAINTINGS 1912-1913 
 PAINTINGS 1914-1915 
 PAINTINGS 1916-1920 
 PAINTINGS 1921-1923 
 PAINTINGS 1924-1926 
 PAINTINGS 1926-1929 
 PAINTINGS 1928-1935 
 PAINTINGS 1933-1942 
 PAINTINGS 1942-1956 
 HARLEQUINS 
 
 FIGURATIVE DRAWINGS 
 ABSTRACT DRAWINGS 
 WATERCOLOR, GOUACHE 
 RELIEFS 
 LINOCUTS 
 LITHOGRAPHS 
 
 TEXTS by IVAN PUNI 
 EXHIBITIONS
 
 CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 
 FORGERIES 
 ROLE OF XANA 
 
 CONTACTS 

 

 

 

 

 

  THE ISSUE OF FORGERIES IN JEAN POUGNY'S OEUVRE РУ DE EN

Like any famous artist's oeuvre, Pougny's oeuvre has not escaped the attention of forgers. However, there are reasons that make his case special.

Pougny's works from the French period are rarely forged: the artist created quite a lot of them (over a thousand), so their prices are not as high as those of the early ones; in addition, they are not so easy to forge. But rare avant-garde pieces from the St-Petersburg period (Cubo-Futurist, Suprematist, Lettrist), if you are lucky, can be sold for millions, and they are relatively simple, or seem to be simple in manufacturing.

All Pougny knockoffs can be categorised into two large groups.
Forgeries of the first kind are common forgeries for profit, made by fraudsters using hired anonymous artisans. Such forgeries began to appear on the market in the 1960s after the world's interest in the Russian avant-garde increased, and the prices rose respectively. It was during these years that Xenia Boguslavskaya, Pougny's widow, organised his museum retrospective exhibitions one after another. However, if in the period before the collapse of the USSR cases of forgeries were isolated, in the 1990s the art market was literally flooded with things stylised as Russian avant-garde and signed "Puni", as well as "Klyun", "Goncharova", "Rozanova", etc. A typical example of such pseudo-Puni is the four items from the Ludwig Museum, which entered the Ludwig collection in 1993 with Berninger certificates.
Four pseudo-Punis from the Ludwig Museum, which entered the Ludwig collection in 1993 with Berninger certificates. A technological examination published by the museum in 2020 refuted Puni's authorship

Here we come to the circumstances that distinguish the Pougny forgeries from others. These circumstances are connected with the names of Xenia Boguslavskaya and Herman Berninger. Xenia Boguslavskaya is the wife, faithful companion and personal manager of Jean Pougny, she devoted her life to support of her husband, and after his death - to popularisation of his oeuvre. Herman Berninger was a mono-collector of Pougny, who received a part of his archive from Xana.

Berninger published two volumes of the Pougny's catalogue raisonné (the first volume in 1972, the second twenty years later in 1992), and then suddenly began to massively acquire forgeries of his early paintings and to supply these pseudo-Punis with his certificates of authenticity. Most likely, the elderly collector (he was 81 in 1992) was sincerely deluded. John Bowlt recalls that Berninger gave the impression of a man of honesty and sincerity who was dazzled by the sudden opportunity to add to his collection and, with the help of an art historian (more on this see in the article by Hubertus Gassner) began acquiring forgeries, and did so, convinced that the paintings are genuine. Berninger loved the later art of Pougny, while his earlier art seems to have remained incomprehensible to him. The sad apotheosis of Herman Berninger's activities was the exhibition he organised in 2003 in Basel, where, among others, 26 fake "signboards" were displayed, and the catalogue recounted the amazing legend of their creation:
«...After Lunacharsky appointed Puni as a professor at the reformed Academy of Arts, he had to put his skills at the service of society to design establishments: carpenter's shop, pharmacy, musical instrument shop, tobacconist's shop, gambling establishment, spice shop, watchmaker's shop, gunsmith's shop, etc.... These works were commissioned by the Ministry of Culture, which provided canvases, boards and paints for this purpose, paid the artist through the Academy of Arts in money and in kind, and then took possession of the completed works.... After the ban on all avant-garde works, announced by Stalin in the 20s, these unique signboards, which had contributed so much to the renewal of the city's appearance, were put away in closed vaults...»

The items certified by Berninger (among which, of course, were genuine ones) partly ended up in a number of private and museum collections, and partly continue to emerge on the art market.

Examples of pseudo-Puni from the "Iwan Puni Archive, Zürich" of Herman Berninger. Photos from the catalogue of the 2003 exhibition in Basel (0,10 Iwan Puni. Werke aus der Sammlung Herman Berninger, Zürich und Fotografien der russischen Revolution aus der Sammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog, Basel. Ausstellungskatalog Museum Jean Tinguely, 2003)

Xenia Boguslavskaya (1892-1972) played a less odious but no less dramatic role. She made it her life's work to promote Pougny's work: she organised his exhibitions, donated his works to museums, sold them to private and museum collections, printed reproductions. She wanted to present her husband's work in its fullness and splendour, but a problem stood in her way: Most of Pougny's early works remained in Russia. Xana made every effort to get to them, but was forced to realise that many of the early pieces were either inaccessible or lost. Then she made the bold decision to restore at least something on her own. Thus came a series of reliefs, gouaches and linocuts. Xana would have no complaints if she had signed her reconstructions frankly with her own name and date. But she preferred to attribute them retroactively to her husband, apparently believing that as a professional and like-minded artist she was able to reconstruct his works completely and indistinguishably. Compared to the crude forgeries of the first kind, these items retain the author's manner, are characterised by a higher level of execution and are often difficult to identify. Perhaps one should not even call them forgeries, as they are essentially reconstructions or reproductions authorised by the artist's wife.

  Advice on the authenticity of Jean Pougny's works

There is a well-founded opinion in the expert community that of all the works of the Russian avant-garde that entered the art market after 1990, more than 90 per cent were forgeries; see, for example, the proceedings of the symposium and exhibition "The Russian Avant-Garde at the Ludwig Museum: Original and Fake" (2020). This is fully true also for the items attributed to the early (pre-1923) Pougny. With such a concentration of forgeries, there can be no question of a presumption of authenticity - that is, by default, it is reasonable to assume a piece to be a forgery, and to consider its authenticity to be proven only if there are strong arguments.

Interested parties can consult the website for advice on the authenticity of Jean Pougny's works. The assessment of whether a work is authentic is made on the basis of a set of criteria including, first of all, provenance and conformity to the author's style (historical and art historical expertise). Knowledge of the author's style is achieved by long-term study of the artist's works, his creative evolution, biography, lifetime exhibitions and publications.
Our experience shows that in most cases the level of Pougny forgeries is such that no technological expertise is required to identify them, historical and art history expertise is sufficient.

The identification of reconstructions/reproductions authorised by the artist's widow requires in-depth knowledge of the historical context. In some cases, doubts cannot be resolved without examining the age of the materials, in which case technological expertise may additionally be required to reach a definitive conclusion.

Like any expert conclusion, our advice reflects the opinion of an expert, does not purport to be the absolute truth and is probabilistic in nature.
100% probability of authenticity corresponds to the expert's full confidence in the authenticity of the work, while zero probability corresponds to full confidence that it is a forgery; intermediate values reflect the degree of doubt about authorship, uncertainty of origin, etc.

ГЛАВНАЯ 
 
 МАТЕРИАЛЫ К БИОГРАФИИ 
 МИФЫ и ФАКТЫ 
 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1912-1913 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1914-1915 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1916-1920 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1921-1923 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1924-1926 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1926-1929 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1928-1935 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1933-1942 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1942-1956 
 АРЛЕКИНЫ 
 
 РИСУНКИ ФИГУРАТИВНЫЕ 
 РИСУНКИ БЕСПРЕДМЕТНЫЕ 
 АКВАРЕЛЬ, ГУАШЬ 
 РЕЛЬЕФЫ 
 ЛИНОГРАВЮРЫ 
 ЛИТОГРАФИИ 
 
 ТЕКСТЫ ИВАНА ПУНИ 
 ВЫСТАВКИ
 
 КАТАЛОГ-РЕЗОНЕ 
 ПРОБЛЕМА ПОДДЕЛОК 
 РОЛЬ КСАНЫ 
 
 КОНТАКТЫ 

 

 

 

 

 

  ПРОБЛЕМА ПОДДЕЛОК В НАСЛЕДИИ ИВАНА ПУНИ РУ DE EN

Как и наследие любого известного художника, наследие Ивана Пуни не избежало внимания поддельщиков. Однако существуют причины, делающие случай Пуни особенным.

Заметим сразу, что произведения Пуни французского периода подделывают редко: художник создал их довольно много (более тысячи), поэтому цены на них не столь высоки, как на ранние; вдобавок подделывать их не так легко. Зато редкие авангардные вещи петербургского периода (кубофутуристические, супрематические, леттристские), если повезет, можно продать за миллионы, а в изготовлении они относительно просты или кажутся простыми.

Все подделки под Пуни можно разделить на две большие группы.
Подделки первого рода – это обычные подделки с целью наживы, сделанные мошенниками с привлечением наемных анонимных ремесленников. Такие подделки стали появляться на рынке в 1960-е годы после того, как в мире возрос интерес к русскому авангарду, а вместе с ним и цены. Как раз в эти годы Ксения Богуславская, вдова Пуни, организовывала одну за другой его музейные ретроспективные выставки. Однако если в период до развала СССР случаи подделок были единичными, то в 1990-е годы художественный рынок был буквально наводнен стилизованными под русский авангард вещами с подписью "Пуни", а также "Клюн", "Гончарова", "Розанова" и т. д. Типичный пример таких псевдо-Пуни - четыре вещи из Музея Людвига, приобретенные в 1993 году с сертификатами Бернингера.
Четыре псевдо-Пуни из Музея Людвига, приобретенные в 1993 году с сертификатами Бернингера. Технологическая экспертиза, опубликованная музеем в 2020 году, опровергла авторство Пуни.

Здесь мы подошли к обстоятельствам, выделяющим подделки под Пуни среди прочих. Связаны эти обстоятельства с именами Ксении Богуславской и Германа Бернингера. Ксения Богуславская (Ксана) - жена, верная соратница и персональный менеджер Ивана Пуни, она посвятила свою жизнь поддержке мужа, а после его смерти - популяризации его творчества. Герман Бернингер - моноколлекционер Пуни, получивший от Ксаны часть ее архива.

Бернингер издал два тома подготовленного Ксаной каталога-резоне Пуни (первый том в 1972, второй через двадцать лет в 1992), а затем внезапно начал массово приобретать подделки под его ранние картины и снабжать этих псевдо-Пуни своими сертификатами подлинности. Скорей всего, пожилой коллекционер (в 1992 ему было 81 год) искренне заблуждался. Джон Боулт вспоминает, что Бернингер производил впечатление человека честного и искреннего, который был ослеплен внезапно появившейся возможностью пополнить свою коллекцию и с помощью одной искусствоведки (об этом см. статью Хубертуса Гасснера) начал приобретать подделки, причем делал это, будучи убежден, что картины подлинные. Бернингер любил позднее искусство Пуни, а раннее искусство для него, похоже, так и осталось непонятным. Печальным апофеозом деятельности Германа Бернингера стала организованная им в 2003 году выставка в Базеле, на которой среди прочих демонстрировалось 26 поддельных "вывесок" Пуни, а в каталоге излагалась удивительная легенда об их создании (пер. с немецкого):
«...после того, как Луначарский назначил Пуни профессором реформированной Академии художеств, тот должен был поставить свои способности на службу обществу для оформления заведений: столярной мастерской, аптеки, магазина музыкальных инструментов, табачной лавки, игорного заведения, магазина пряностей, лавки часовщика, лавки оружейника и т. д... Эти работы были заказаны Министерством культуры [sic], которое предоставило для этого холсты, доски и краски, расплатилось с художником через Академию художеств деньгами и натурой, а затем получило в собственность выполненные работы... После запрета всех произведений авангарда, объявленного Сталиным в 20-е годы [sic], эти уникальные вывески, так много способствовавшие обновлению городского облика, были убраны в закрытые хранилища...»

Сертифицированные Бернингером вещи (среди которых были, разумеется, и настоящие) отчасти осели в ряде частных и музейных собраний, отчасти продолжают всплывать на художественном рынке.

Примеры псевдо-Пуни из "архива Ивана Пуни, Цюрих" Германа Бернингера. Фото из каталога выставки 2003 года в Базеле (0,10 Iwan Puni. Werke aus der Sammlung Herman Berninger, Zürich und Fotografien der russischen Revolution aus der Sammlung Ruth und Peter Herzog, Basel. Ausstellungskatalog Museum Jean Tinguely, 2003).

Не столь одиозную, но не менее драматичную роль сыграла Ксения Богуславская (1892-1972). Делом своей жизни она сделала продвижение творчества Пуни: она устраивала его выставки, дарила его произведения музеям, продавала их в частные и музейные собрания, печатала репродукции. Ей хотелось представить творчество мужа во всей полноте и блеске, но на ее пути встала проблема: большинство ранних произведений Пуни остались в России. Ксана предприняла максимум усилий чтобы добраться до них, но была вынуждена констатировать, что многие ранние вещи либо недоступны, либо утрачены. Тогда она приняла смелое решение самостоятельно восстановить хотя бы что-то. Так появился ряд рельефов, гуашей и линогравюр. К Ксане не было бы никаких претензий, подпишись она откровенно своим именем и датой. Но она предпочла приписать их задним числом мужу, видимо сочтя, что как профессиональная художница и единомышленница она в состоянии полностью и идентично реконструировать его работы. По сравнению с грубыми подделками первого рода эти вещи сохраняют авторскую манеру, отличаются более высоким уровнем исполнения и часто с трудом поддаются идентификации. Наверное даже не стоит называть их подделками, т.к. по сути они являются реконструкциями или воспроизведениями, авторизованными женой художника.

  Консультирование относительно подлинности произведений Ивана Пуни

В экспертном сообществе бытует обоснованное мнение, что из всех произведений русского авангарда, поступивших на художественный рынок после 1990 года, более 90% были поддельными; об этом см., например, материалы симпозиума и выставки «Русский авангард в музее Людвига: оригинал и подделка" (2020). В полной мере это относится и к вещам, приписываемым раннему (до 1923) Пуни. При такой концентрации подделок не может быть и речи о презумпции подлинности - то есть по умолчанию разумно предполагать вещь подделкой, а подлинность ее считать доказанной только при наличии веских доводов.

Заинтересованные лица могут обращаться через сайт за консультацией относительно подлинности произведений Ивана Пуни. Оценка того, является ли произведение подлинным, производится по набору критериев, включающих прежде всего провенанс и соответствие авторской манере (историко-искусствоведческая экспертиза). Знание авторской манеры достигается многолетним изучением произведений художника, его творческой эволюции, биографии, прижизненных выставок и публикаций.
Наш опыт показывает, что в большинстве случаев уровень подделок под Пуни таков, что для их идентификации не требуется технологической экспертизы, достаточно лишь историко-искусствоведческой.

Выявление авторизованных вдовой художника реконструкций требует глубоких знаний исторического контекста. В некоторых случаях сомнения не разрешить без исследования возраста материалов, тогда для окончательного заключения может дополнительно потребоваться технологическая экспертиза.

Как всякое экспертное заключение, наша консультация отражает мнение эксперта, не претендует быть абсолютной истиной и носит вероятностный характер.
100% вероятность подлинности соответствует полной уверенности эксперта в подлинности произведения, а нулевая вероятность - полной уверенности в том, что это подделка; промежуточные значения отражают степень сомнений по поводу авторства, неопределенности происхождения и т.д.