HOME 
 
 BIOGRAPHY 
 MYTHS & FACTS 
 
 PAINTINGS 1912-1913 
 PAINTINGS 1914-1915 
 PAINTINGS 1916-1920 
 PAINTINGS 1921-1923 
 PAINTINGS 1924-1926 
 PAINTINGS 1926-1929 
 PAINTINGS 1928-1935 
 PAINTINGS 1933-1942 
 PAINTINGS 1942-1956 
 HARLEQUINS 
 
 FIGURATIVE DRAWINGS 
 ABSTRACT DRAWINGS 
 WATERCOLOR, GOUACHE 
 RELIEFS 
 LINOCUTS 
 LITHOGRAPHS 
 
 TEXTS by IVAN PUNI 
 EXHIBITIONS
 
 CATALOGUE RAISONNÉ 
 FORGERIES 
 ROLE OF XANA 
 
 CONTACTS 

 

 

 

 

 

  PAINTING 1924-1926 РУ DE EN

In the autumn of 1923, the Pougny couple settled in Paris.
The phase of constructive naturalism was completed by the end of 1923 and early 1924.
In 1924, Pougny developed a new manner: the straight lines of the laconic compositions of the constructive naturalism times are now curved, and the compositions themselves acquire a baroque whimsicality. The new manner is characterised by an abundance (both in quantity and, above all, quality) of piled objects. Quite large (more than a metre) horizontal and vertical still lifes and several compositions with figures. There is less absurdism than before; rather a slight hyperbolisation; almost naturalistic things. As a man who grew up early (and mastered cubofuturism and suprematism) but underplayed in his childhood, Pougny now comes back to the mimetic drawing of simple things. A "savoury" glittering painterly medley. The colours are bright, but not mottled. The colour is still alive, fluttering, with light and shade. Lyudmila Miklashevskaya, who saw these things in the artist's studio before the exhibition in 1925: "They were mostly still lifes, but, contrary to the name of this genre, the paintings were so full of life, irony, even sarcasm, that I was scattered in expressions of delight."
In addition to the large- and medium-format paintings of this period, a special group is made up of small still lifes with simple objects: fruit, mushrooms, cakes, a knife, tobacco. The viewer is shown the picturesque charm of ordinary everyday things, and it is obvious that the artist derived sensual pleasure from the work. Almost naturalistic art, but the energy is overflowing so that the objects try to break out of their correct form: for example, the knife bends backwards. These are harbingers of the future development - the generalisation of objects into signs. The colouring of small still lifes is more often dark, brownish or greenish.
Participation in exhibitions: 1925 - solo exhibition at Galerie Barbazanges, 1924 - 1925 - three group exhibitions, 1926 - one.

1924-1925. Musical Instruments and Vase of Fruit. Oil, canvas. 89 х 130 cm 1925. Still Life - Basket and Violin Case. Oil, canvas. 130 х 81 cm 1925. Athlete (My Cousin Grigory). Oil, canvas. 130 х 89 cm. ABA Gallery, New York 1924-1925. Nu. Oil, canvas. 101 х 66 cm. ABA Gallery, New York
1924-1925. Fruit Plate. Oil, board. 25 х 31 cm 1924-1925. Pipe and Tobacco. Oil, canvas. 38 х 46,5 cm. State Tretiakov Gallery, Moscow, inv. Ж-1322 1925-1926. Still Life with Mushrooms. Oil, canvas. 33 х 41 cm 1926. Fruit Plate. Oil, canvas. 17 х 24 cm

ГЛАВНАЯ 
 
 МАТЕРИАЛЫ К БИОГРАФИИ 
 МИФЫ и ФАКТЫ 
 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1912-1913 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1914-1915 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1916-1920 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1921-1923 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1924-1926 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1926-1929 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1928-1935 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1933-1942 
 ЖИВОПИСЬ 1942-1956 
 АРЛЕКИНЫ 
 
 РИСУНКИ ФИГУРАТИВНЫЕ 
 РИСУНКИ БЕСПРЕДМЕТНЫЕ 
 АКВАРЕЛЬ, ГУАШЬ 
 РЕЛЬЕФЫ 
 ЛИНОГРАВЮРЫ 
 ЛИТОГРАФИИ 
 
 ТЕКСТЫ ИВАНА ПУНИ 
 ВЫСТАВКИ
 
 КАТАЛОГ-РЕЗОНЕ 
 ПРОБЛЕМА ПОДДЕЛОК 
 РОЛЬ КСАНЫ 
 
 КОНТАКТЫ 

 

 

 

 

 

  ЖИВОПИСЬ 1924-1926 РУ DE EN

Осенью 1923 года чета Пуни обосновалась в Париже.
Фаза конструктивного натурализма завершается к концу 1923 - началу 1924.
В 1924 году Пуни вырабатывает новую манеру: прямые линии лаконичных композиций времен конструктивного натурализма теперь искривляются, а сами композиции приобретают барочную прихотливость. Для новой манеры характерно изобилие (и по количеству, и прежде всего по качеству) нагроможденных предметов. Довольно крупные (больше метра) горизонтальные и вертикальные натюрморты и несколько композиций с фигурами. Абсурдизма меньше, чем раньше; скорее - легкая гиперболизация; почти натуралистические вещи. Как человек рано повзрослевший (кубофутуризм и супрематизм) и недоигравший в детстве, Пуни теперь доигрывает в миметическое рисование простых вещей. «Смачное» сверкающее живописное месиво. Краски яркие, но не пестрые. Цвет по-прежнему живой, трепещущий, со светотенью. Людмила Миклашевская, увидевшая эти вещи в мастерской перед выставкой 1925: «Это были преимущественно натюрморты, но, вопреки названию этого жанра, картины были до того полны жизни, иронии, даже сарказма, что я рассыпалась в изъявлениях восторга.»
Помимо крупно- и среднеформатных картин этого периода особую группу составляют небольшие натюрморты с простыми предметами: фруктами, грибами, пирожными, ножом, табаком. Зрителю явлена живописная прелесть обычных повседневных вещей, очевидно, что и художник получал от работы чувственное удовольствие. Почти натуралистическое искусство, но энергия бьет через край так, что предметы будто бы норовят вырваться из своей правильной формы: к примеру нож от напряжения выгибается в обратную сторону. Это предвестники будущего развития – обобщения предметов до знаков. Колорит мелких натюрмортов чаще темный, коричневатый или зеленоватый.
Участие в выставках: 1925 - персональная выставка в галерее Барбазанж, 1924 - 1925 - по три групповых выставки, 1926 - одна.

1924-1925. Музыкальные инструменты и ваза с фруктами. Холст, масло. 89 х 130 см 1925. Натюрморт - корзина и футляр из-под скрипки. Холст, масло. 130 х 81 см 1925. Атлет (Мой кузен Григорий). Холст, масло. 130 х 89 см. Галерея ABA, Нью-Йорк 1924-1925. Ню. Холст, масло. 101 х 66 см. Галерея ABA, Нью-Йорк
1924-1925. Тарелка фруктов. Доска, масло. 25 х 31 см 1924-1925. Трубка и табак. Холст, масло. 38 х 46,5 см. ГТГ, инв. Ж-1322 1925-1926. Натюрморт с грибами. Холст, масло. 33 х 41 см 1926. Тарелка фруктов. Холст, масло. 17 х 24 см